OnkyoISCP plugin

Do you have questions about writing plugins or scripts in Python? Meet the coders here.

OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:15 pm

I've written an Onkyo ISCP protocol plugin this evening after pairing my PS3 remote with my new bluetooth dongle.
I've attached the first version of it. (edit: attachment removed)
When adding it the ip and port of the Onkyo device has to be configured.
The only action it currently supports is SendCommand which takes a ISCP command string as only config option.

To get a list of all ISCP commands search the web or install Michaels aweome OyRemote which could be found here: http://blog.krautsourced.com/?page_id=284

@Michael: if you're reading this it would be great to share a list of commands and maybe the icon.
Last edited by abraxxa on Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:38 am

The OnkyoISCP plugin is now on github: https://github.com/abraxxa/EventGhost-Onkyo-ISCP-plugin

Version 0.02 brings Perl style versioning and auto-reconnect after long periods of inactivity (is there a way to test a python socket if its still connected?).
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:02 pm

Version 0.03 is on github, timeout was added.
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:05 am

I've just released version 0.04 to github.
This hopefully fixes the error after a longer time of inactivity plus adds labels to all config dialogs.
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:16 pm

Version 0.05 is on github. This finally fixes the reconnect issues if the receiver was switched off and on again while Eventghost was running or the connection was closed due to long inactivity.
Please include in the next EventGhost dist!
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby Livin » Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:40 pm

Wish my Onkyo has network control... my 805 only has RS232. :(
setup... XBMC, W7MC for DVR & Live OTA TV, JRMC for multi-zone audio, EG, MiCasaVerde Vera3, USB-UIRT IR receiver, Harmony remote, 5.2 home theater system
User avatar
Livin
Experienced User
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:56 am

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:29 am

There is also a plugin for that.
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby Livin » Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:50 pm

I use the EG plugin for Onkyo Serial - it works well... but the network control would be nicer :)
setup... XBMC, W7MC for DVR & Live OTA TV, JRMC for multi-zone audio, EG, MiCasaVerde Vera3, USB-UIRT IR receiver, Harmony remote, 5.2 home theater system
User avatar
Livin
Experienced User
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:56 am

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby Sem;colon » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:19 am

Hi everyone,
I edited the plugin a bit, now it is possible to receive some basic Data from the Onkyo Receiver.
Also a fixed a small bug. (if you sent to many commands at the same time they where sometimes rejected)
Attachments
OnkyoISCP.zip
v0.06
(1.64 KiB) Downloaded 575 times
Sem;colon
Experienced User
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:51 am
Location: Germany

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:43 pm

Please send me a pull request on github.
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby Sem;colon » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:20 pm

I'd love to but I'm not familia with github and don't know how..
By the way, I'm not really a programmer.. jet^^ (sorry for the german language in the code) I just wanted you to know that I changed the plugin a bit - and I think it is better now (of course I tested it a few days) :D
It doesn't matter to me if you change my code again - I just wanted to help
Sem;colon
Experienced User
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:51 am
Location: Germany

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby blaher » Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:48 am

Thanks for your work on this. Could you please give me an example of how to send a command in the plugin? I'm getting feedback with your .06 plugin, eg. OnkyoISCP.MVL '28' when my Integra DHC-9.9's volume is set to 40, but I can't seem to send anything. !1MVL28 is what's reported in oyremote, and that corresponds to a volume level of 40 there too, so the new feedback section looks good.

I can send commands using oyremote & using the webpage with the static IP, eg. !1PWR01 will turn the power on, but the same command won't work in EventGhost.


Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Cheers
blaher
Experienced User
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:27 am

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby Sem;colon » Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:24 pm

Hi blaher,

did you ever try it without the "!1" in the beginning?
On my TX-NR509 it worked just fine when sending "PWR01" or "MVL20" for example.

If you want to know some more commands to send, look at this:
https://github.com/rmhall/AVR-Remote/bl ... VR_120.xls
Sem;colon
Experienced User
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:51 am
Location: Germany

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby abraxxa » Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:31 pm

Yes, you only have to enter the command.
abraxxa
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:10 pm

Re: OnkyoISCP plugin

Postby blaher » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:59 am

Thanks for the responses. I have tried just sending the command without the '!1'at the beginning, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to do anything. Here is a screenshot of what is happening:

http://i.imgur.com/xS23C.gif

It says it's connected and if I use my Pronto remote to change volume levels, inputs etc., then it will report the correct information.

Maybe it's the way my network is set up, but it's strange that it works with the webpage and oyremote, but just not EventGhost.

For what it's worth, my Windows 7 64-bit network is setup like this:

I have two network cards in my PC, one is connected to the Internet, the other is connected to my pre-pro. None of them use crossover cable.

The Internet connection NIC is shared (192.168.168.101) to the pre-pro NIC (192.168.168.112)
My pre-pro is set to 192.168.168.111 with the default port of 60128

On both NICs & pre-pro:
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.168.1

DHCP enabled on the Internet NIC
DHCP disabled on the other two

Using IPv4 rather than 6

I have ordered a switch, so I don't have to share the Internet with the other NIC, in order to hopefully get it to work without a crossover cable, but maybe someone can see what I've done wrong in the interim.

Cheers
blaher
Experienced User
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:27 am

Next

Return to Coding Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests