Page 1 of 1

Might have a server

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:47 am
by kgschlosser
I am running through the setup process on a KVM VPS going to get my toes wet and see if everything is going to work as i hope.

here are the specs on the server
4 cores at 2.3 ghz (dedicated)
4 gig ram (dedicated)
150 gig SSD (dedicated space allocation on a shared SSD stripe)
1000 mbit connection
10tb of bandwidth (yes that is 10000Gig)

I am thinking with those specs we should be good for a really really long time.

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:11 am
by pearbear
How does the ongoing cost of that plan compare to the cost of the current hosting plan?

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:01 am
by kgschlosser
cheaper

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:05 am
by pearbear
Cool!

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:08 am
by kgschlosser
i got the VPS. and I have started experimenting with it I have Ubuntu 16.04 running with Xrdp tigerVNC and Unity desktop. Apache 2.4 is up and running. MySql 5.7 is good to go. PHP 7.18 with Opcache and APCu PHP cache to speed things up. phpmyadmin is also installed and working properly I have PHPbb 3.2 running all permissions seem to be set properly. It's just a dummy site at the moment with an empty forum I am trying to see if there are any major hang ups It's been pretty smooth. I had an issue with getting the OS installed but that has been resolved.


you can check out the forum end of things the index page for the site is the Apache startup page but it shows it works Tho I have not tested the registration bits of it.

http://104.129.43.183/forum

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:11 am
by kgschlosser
its actually quite a bit cheaper so i am happy with that. The best part is we are basically in complete control of it. no limitations other then the resources so I can't complain there. and the 10tb of data makes it nice because now we will not have to worry about possibly going over bandwidth even with setting up a plugin repo.

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:25 am
by kgschlosser
Ok temp DNS is set up. Dont have a site up yet but there is a test version forum up and running
I am going to work on migrating the data this evening and get the docs done up so when we move the site just have to follow the step by step.

Here is a link to the test forum. eventghost.rocks/forum

Re: Might have a server

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:16 pm
by zian
pearbear wrote:Cool!
Yup.
Very cool.