TUTORIAL: Controlling house lights from a driveway X10 senso

Tutorials & Guides

TUTORIAL: Controlling house lights from a driveway X10 senso

Postby wysocki » Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:05 pm

I'm pretty new to EventGhost and I admit it's been a bit of a struggle trying to learn it from the forum posts. I'm an old programmer and I understand how tedious it is to write documentation! However, I've finished a little automation project with EG and thought that I'd submit it for all the other newbies to hopefully learn from. I suspect that my approach could certainly be made better by one of the EG pros, but hey, at least it's a start! I'm starting off with an X10 CM11A unit on the computer to hear and talk to my X10 devices. Before you start this, you should have some understanding of how to add macros, plugins, actions, etc. to the EventGhost system by reading the startup docs.

Basically, I have an X10 driveway sensor that rings a bell in the house when someone crosses the IR beam. What I wanted to do was to ALSO have my outside lights come on for a while so I could walk from the garage to the house with lights on. I started by creating a Folder called "Driveway Lights" and put two macros in it: one that would hear my driveway sensor (CM11A.D1.On) and simply turn the light on (CM11A:A2.On) and start a timer for 5 minutes, then another macro would watch the timer and turn the lights off (CM11A.A2.Off):
eg.driveway.macros.1.jpg
eg.driveway.macros.1.jpg (18.25 KiB) Viewed 1496 times

The Timer plugin is configured to generate the event "driveway-off" in 5 minutes. I was then able to drag that event to the second macro to trigger the A2:Off for the lights.