Inactive audio output actions

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
Post Reply
slattynan
Experienced User
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:15 pm

Inactive audio output actions

Post by slattynan » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:12 pm

Hi All,

I'd like eventghost to send my display to standby when my audio AMP turns off automatically (after 30 mins of inactivity).

The AMP turns itself off after 30mins of not receiving a signal from the computer running event ghost.

The AMP has no wifi or network control.

I can control the AMP through RM bridge, with my broadlink RF/IR device

My thoughts:-

1) Option 1. Have event ghost monitor audio activity, then send display to sleep when 30 min timer is reached (reset by eventghost when audio signal sensed) - Perhaps using this library somehow? viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8067

2) Option 2. Get a smart plug and monitor power draw from the AMP, send monitor to sleep when power draw is equal to standby usage.


Are both of these options achievable? Are there any plugins which can help? Can eventghost work with Smartthings devices?

Sem;colon
Experienced User
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:51 am
Location: Germany

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by Sem;colon » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:36 am

Hi slattynan,

I successfully did that option 2 with a Z-WAVE power plug, works good, but keep in mind that you'll also get the event if the AMP is turned off manually of course

slattynan
Experienced User
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:15 pm

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by slattynan » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:00 pm

OK great, I think that would be the least buggy route to take.

Is there a plugin for eventghost to work with the smartthings plug? I have one of these already knocking about.

https://www.samsung.com/uk/smartthings/ ... app-uk-v2/

skribb
Experienced User
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:22 pm
Location: Win7 64bit

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by skribb » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:50 pm

slattynan wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:00 pm
OK great, I think that would be the least buggy route to take.

Is there a plugin for eventghost to work with the smartthings plug? I have one of these already knocking about.

https://www.samsung.com/uk/smartthings/ ... app-uk-v2/
If you're happy communicating to/from EG using the internet, there is a .groovy script for that

https://community.smartthings.com/t/sen ... host/22473

you will need to use the Smartthings classic app, then add the script while logged into https://account.smartthings.com/login
Automation is life.

Win7 64bit
EG: v0.5.0-rc4

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by kgschlosser » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:31 am

I made a variation of the AudioEndPoint control library that will actually tell you when audio starts and stops. This can be used to turn off the monitor and shutdown an AVR if the AVR does not have a shutdown feature.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

slattynan
Experienced User
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:15 pm

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by slattynan » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:08 pm

Thanks both,

I will probably use both for a different purposes.

Kgschlosser would you share your control library? I'd like to use it to make the AMP sleep quick to save a few pennies on electricity

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:38 am

Yeah no worries. I have to go and dig it up. Give me a bit.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

slattynan
Experienced User
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:15 pm

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by slattynan » Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:23 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:38 am
Yeah no worries. I have to go and dig it up. Give me a bit.
Subtle reminder... :wink:

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Sep 01, 2018 8:49 pm

NO i remembered. But I made some changes in the past that broke it. so i have to remember what i did to undo it. I am slo trying to clean it up a bit and make the plugin more presentable. It is not even an Alpha test version. I want to make sure it is as problem free as i can make it. there is close to 20000 lines of code in this plugin. It has been a while since IO have done any work on it, so i have to do some reading to remember where i left off LOL...

TY very much for the reminder I do appreciate it very much... Rest assured I will get it to you. just need a little bit more time.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Feb 24, 2019 8:40 pm

I know really late doing this. I am sorry for it taking a while.

This is an alpha test version. I am sure you will encounter some problem with it.
Attachments
CoreAudio-0.1a.egplugin
(136.46 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

slattynan
Experienced User
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:15 pm

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by slattynan » Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:20 pm

sweet, gives me sommin to do at the weekend :D

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Inactive audio output actions

Post by kgschlosser » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:42 am

I have done a little work on the core audio plugin. I should be able to do a release of it soon. unfortunately I am not able to get the setting of other application volumes working. I still do not know how I managed to get the events for the audio starting and stopping. It is not supposed to do that. I was hoping I could trip and fall into the same hole that allowed me to get the events from other applications audio streams starting and stopping. I was not so lucky.

the reason why those events are not supposed to be seen is because I can use them to muck up audio playback by playing something else. Microsoft has a dislike for applications being able to screw with other applications. hence the reason I am not able to adjust the volume controls for another application. could you imagine the havoc someones computer could be if you had 2 pieces of software installed and running and it happened to be that the authors were in some kind of a disagreement with each other and decided to write code to turn the volume down on the other or start playback when the other one was playing.. It would be a pretty wild ride i will tell you me.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

Post Reply