CEC Adapter not waking amp

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:33 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:24 pm
nairnmonster wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:22 pm
Yeah, CEC adapter now into tv on HDMI port two and the HTPC is into HDMI port 1 on the amp.
In the plugin Config do you have the HDMI port set to 2?
Yeah its set as HDMI 2

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:41 pm

OK so try Playback device 3 or Playback device 4. select one od those 2 then click on Apply and then Test and see if it changes properly.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:44 pm

what I am seeing in that list is this..

the TR-NX838 is your AVR and it is plugged into HDMI port 1 on the TV
HTPC is plugged into HDMI port 2 on the TV. (This is the CEC adapter)

Sky Q plugged into one of the HDMI ports on the AVR.
we simply need to locate the PC that is plugged into the AVR. Now... let this be known.. if your video card does not support identification over CEC we may have to attack this from a different route. I am currently investigating something with the CEC protocol so if i do not respond right away that is the reason why.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:47 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:41 pm
OK so try Playback device 3 or Playback device 4. select one od those 2 then click on Apply and then Test and see if it changes properly.
There wasnt a 3 and 4 but I tried playback 2, recorder 3 an tuner 4 but all done nothing. Not even to show a change of name on the tv.

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:48 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:44 pm
what I am seeing in that list is this..

the TR-NX838 is your AVR and it is plugged into HDMI port 1 on the TV
HTPC is plugged into HDMI port 2 on the TV. (This is the CEC adapter)

Sky Q plugged into one of the HDMI ports on the AVR.
we simply need to locate the PC that is plugged into the AVR. Now... let this be known.. if your video card does not support identification over CEC we may have to attack this from a different route. I am currently investigating something with the CEC protocol so if i do not respond right away that is the reason why.
Ok matey, I'm just happy for the help. Take all the time in the world :)

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:13 pm

OK so this is what I am doing. I am updating the plugin so you will be able to select the device you have the CEC adapter plugged into. just like what you see in the CEC tray application. This is going to allow you to plug the HDMI from your PC video card into the CEC adapter and then the HDMI from your CEC adapter into the AVR. we are not able to locate the PC because the video card you are using does not have the ability to announce it's self over CEC. so CEC is not able to locate it. and becaue we do not have direct control so to speak over source selection on the AVR e are not able to tell the AVR to change the input to say HDMI2. we only have the ability to tell the AVR to activate whatever input the PC is plugged into. the AVR is what does the work and determines what actual source input the PC is plugged into and make the change needed.

I am about 1/2 way done making the changes needed to the plugin that will allow you to plug into the AVR from the CEC adapter. I have to write the code to make the choice control so you will be able to select the device the adapter is plugged into.

Give me about another 30 minutes probably less to make the changes.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:16 pm

OMG, what a hero!

Thank you so much!

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:17 pm

So will I return the CEC adapter setup back to how it was before going between the HTCP and the AVR?

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:20 pm

ok sorry about that it took a lot longer then I thought it would. It has been a long while since I worked on this plugin and I had to work through some of the goofy ass shit I did as I had written this plugin when i was less knowledgeable about Python.

I added a new option to the plugin config which will allow you to select the device that you have the CEC adapter plugged into. It is going to default to plugging into the TV. It should work with your current setup all you should have to do is double click the new plugin file and it will install. make sure EG is closed before you double click the attached file.

Let me know if it works out.
Attachments
PulseEightPlus-v0.4.10b.egplugin
(279.59 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:22 pm

and yes return the wiring setup to what you had originally where the usb from the PC and the HDMI from the PC is connected to the adapter and then the adapter hdmi out is plugged into the HDMI on the AVR. Just remember that you have to select the AVR in the "Connected to" choice selection in the plugin config. and also set the HDMI port number to the port number on the avr in the plugin config as well.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:25 pm

Magic, just changing the cable around the now and will test and get back to you in a few mins.

So I don't need to uninstall the pluggin?

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:31 pm

no. This should overwrite the older version. If it doesn't then we will work around that issue when we get there. You can check the plugin version by opening the Add Plugin dialog and single clicking on the plugin. in the right hand pane you will see the plugin version and it should be 0.4.10b
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:34 pm

Ok, it installed over it and shows with the updated version.

I'm sorry for being thick here, but where has the options changed?

It seems the same and still not working like the cec-tray was matey.

Also, it hangs at searching for adapters for some time. Should I do a reboot?

User avatar
nairnmonster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:30 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by nairnmonster » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:43 pm

So I rebooted, it now sees the adapter. I set it to the same settings as I have with the cec-tray.

It goes to change the source and the amp now shows "Amp Speaker" and mutes Sky. It doesn't change source.

But I feel we are getting closer to success.


Or maybe not.

I've just tried every device listed on it and none would change the source of the amp :(

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: CEC Adapter not waking amp

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:58 pm

OK give me a day or so to see what I can come up with. I have some errands I need to run and I will be abck later to do some more investigating.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

Post Reply