MceRemote.Unknown - random characters

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
Post Reply
tocheeba
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:48 am

MceRemote.Unknown - random characters

Post by tocheeba » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:52 am

I've read dozens of posts here, and can't find a solution to my issue. I'm using XBMC for Windows now, and the stupid pre-mapped controls for MCE remotes aren't good, so I want to use EventGhost. However, my remote shows random MceRemote.unknown XXXXXXXXX numbers for every press. When I press DOWN for example, it may show 20 different codes for down. I can't understand why, nor do I know how to fix this. I'm using a rather popular remote:

http://www.amazon.com/Company-MediaGate ... mce+remote

The model # on the remote is GP-IR02BK, and I'm using the receiver that it came with. I believe it's showing in device manager as an official remote.

The problem is that I get numerous codes for the same key, and therefore I can map them but when I'm using XBMC it won't recognize the press because it's spitting out random numbers for the MceRemote.unknown ######.

Any suggestions? Am I doing something wrong?

Jurgen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:52 am

Re: MceRemote.Unknown - random characters

Post by Jurgen » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:08 am

Does the problem resolved?
I have the same issue and just find no solution.

blaher
Experienced User
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:27 am

Re: MceRemote.Unknown - random characters

Post by blaher » Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:13 am

Just ran into this myself trying to blast IR from a weird remote. There seems to be no rhyme, nor reason to the output, and some codes are the same for different presses.

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5495
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: MceRemote.Unknown - random characters

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:15 pm

@blaher

have you tried my instructions for resetting the ehome stack?
they are located in the MCE Remote Vista + support thread.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MceRemote.Unknown - random characters

Post by jachin99 » Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:56 am

If this is strictly for Kodi have you tried the instructions in their wiki for editing keyboard.xml? I know this doesn't work for every remote and sometimes you have to use eventghost like I do.

Post Reply