Multiple instances of EG on one machine

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
Post Reply
frotzamuta
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:41 pm

Multiple instances of EG on one machine

Post by frotzamuta » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:47 pm

Hi,
I would like to run two instances of EG on one PC. Is there a possibility to do this?
I have already tried with the command line parameters -file and -configdir but had no success.

Thanks
Frotza

mickelin
Experienced User
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Multiple instances of EG on one machine

Post by mickelin » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:24 pm

What are you trying to accomplish? Can't see the point of running multiple instances. Maybe there is another way to achieve what you need.

frotzamuta
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:41 pm

Re: Multiple instances of EG on one machine

Post by frotzamuta » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:45 am

I use a Plugin to Control my Pioneer AV-Receiver. This plugin slows down EG at startup because after resume from standby it need to reconnect to the receiver before any other commands can be accomplished.
My idea was to run instance for the general tasks and one for the Pionner steering only.

Owel
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 5:51 am

Re: Multiple instances of EG on one machine

Post by Owel » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:37 pm

I think the better solution might be, to help to improve the pioneer plugin. So the plugin will stop to slow down EG.

Or you can configure the plugin to reconnect not immediatly after startup. Just wait 30sec. and then try a rconnect.

Owel

blaher
Experienced User
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:27 am

Re: Multiple instances of EG on one machine

Post by blaher » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:42 am

Yeah, you can disable a plugin and save your .xml, and then just trigger an event on startup, which waits 30 seconds before enabling the plugin.

Post Reply