Remote Controls

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
Post Reply
shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:31 pm

Hi all, 8)

Can anyone help me please, I want an IR transceiver. I am looking at this one:-
0048 USB-UIRT (viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6119&start=45#p30742)

* Has anyone got one of these :?:
* Are they good :?:
* Are they easy to use/set up :?:
* Does it come with everything needed to send & receive IR :?:

Or could someone suggest one that will do what I need on a budget :?: :P

Basically all I want it to do is:-

* When I turn ON my pc (via remote or power switch) send a signal to my TV to turn it ON
* When I turn OFF my pc (via remote or power switch) send a signal to my TV to turn it OFF

Cheers Paul. :P

User avatar
ControlFreak
Experienced User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Remote Controls

Post by ControlFreak » Sun Aug 17, 2014 9:16 am

Hi shaggy79,

I know of some people here that have 0048, but I personally do not have it.

I have seen a few posts lately regarding some trouble with it:
General Support Re: USB-UIRT stops working ... Anyway to send reset?
General Support USB-UIRT "Device not Ready" How to execute Macro on Error
Bug Reports USB-UIRT IR code learning crashes EventGhost

It does not come with a transmitter, but it should work with anything that you might have lying around.

A cheaper, and quite popular alternative, is 0019.

The only thing that I am not certain about is if it is able to turn the PC on/off via the remote.

P.S. By the way, I had a question for you about AAAH on the previous page, if you can help me out with that.
WharfRat

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi ControlFreak, 8)

Thanks for the reply I will have a look on fleabay for the remote you suggested.
What did you mean by
It does not come with a transmitter, but it should work with anything that you might have lying around.

As in, what could I use :?:

Also what was the Question If I can help I surely will :P
P.S. By the way, I had a question for you about AAAH on the previous page, if you can help me out with that.
Paul

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:26 pm

ControlFreak, 8)

Was it the
Procedure 1
......

Hardware IDs:-
CIRCLASS\IrDeviceV2

Other than that it comes up as:-
Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver :?:


Paul :P

User avatar
ControlFreak
Experienced User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Remote Controls

Post by ControlFreak » Sun Aug 17, 2014 5:31 pm

shaggy79...

The 0048 is a receiver only, so you must use that leftover TV remote that you used with AAAH for 0048 as well.

I need to get the Vendor ID and the Product ID from Procedure 01.

One thing that I just thought about, AAAH and 0019 are both Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver devices.
I do not know if that will cause any problems with the plugins.
You might want to pose a question about that in the forum topics dedicated to those plugins, because they will know better.
WharfRat

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Sun Aug 17, 2014 9:04 pm

ControlFreak,

I am looking at the other one you suggested '0019'. If and when I get it I will be using it to replace my AAAH.
So the plugin will be fine.

As for the other Question all I get is :-
posting.php?mode=reply&f=2&t=6119#pr32114

User avatar
ControlFreak
Experienced User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Remote Controls

Post by ControlFreak » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:39 am

shaggy79...

Thanks.
Actually, the result you gave me using Procedure 01 might prove useful after all.
Now I know that it does not work for MCE devices.
I have asked Sem;colon for a procedure that works for them.

I wish I had the money to splurge on lots of different remotes.
Then I could give more informed answers to everyone.
I have written a plugin for one before.

Perhaps I will get a 0019 some day, but I have a lot of financial commitments for about another year.

Anyway, when I hear from Sem;colon, we can still get the Vendor ID and Product ID for AAAH.

Hope you're having fun with EventGhost.
WharfRat

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:27 pm

ControlFreak 8)

Good, glad it was of some use to you, Please keep me posted on any info you find on AAAH.
I hear you on that one would love the money to splurge lol :mrgreen:
Same hear money issues too mate, As recently lost my job. :cry:

Loving EventGhost!!!
Just makes me wan't do more and more but money says NO lol :x
I'm liking the home automation stuff. (not that I've got any) :cry:

Think the next couple of things on my To Get list are:-

*A 0019
* A couple of decent webcams (to use with iSpy)
Then maybe look at home automation? :wink:

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:48 pm

Hi can anyone tell me where to get one of these, viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6119&start=15#p30713 from (UK) preferably :| Also would need the 'Blaster' lead to go with it :?: :idea:

Cheers Paul. :P

blaher
Experienced User
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:27 am

Re: Remote Controls

Post by blaher » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:20 am

shaggy79 wrote:Hi can anyone tell me where to get one of these, viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6119&start=15#p30713 from (UK) preferably :| Also would need the 'Blaster' lead to go with it :?: :idea:

Cheers Paul. :P
ebay is the probably the best bet.

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:36 am

Hi blaher, 8)
Thanks for the reply. Yeah that's what I thought but the only ones I can find are not in the UK.
So the P&P is expensive :cry:

Oh well I will just have to keep looking :shock: :P

Cheers Paul. :mrgreen:

User avatar
ControlFreak
Experienced User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Remote Controls

Post by ControlFreak » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:22 am

shaggy79...

Can you do Procedure 01 again for AAAH, but now try:
  • Click on the + next to Universal Serial Bus controllers to expand it.
    • i) right-click on eHome Infrared Receiver (USBCIR) and select Properties.
      ii) go to the Details tab and write down Device Instance Id information.
      • (It should look similar to USB\VID_0755&PID_2626)
I will modify Procedure 01 to reflect these changes soon, if this gets the Vendor ID and Product ID.

Thanks, ControlFreak/WharfRat.
WharfRat

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:39 am

@ ControlFreak

I will bud, as soon as I get home.

Paul.

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Remote Controls

Post by shaggy79 » Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:53 am

@ ControlFreak

Hi there sorry it took so long had a busy day. :P

I couldn't find "Device Instance ID" :?: all I have is 'Device Instance Path'...
Here is the result:-
USB\VID_0BDA&PID_0161&MI_02\7&1E43E1E2&0&0002
Hope this helps bud. :idea:

Paul.

User avatar
ControlFreak
Experienced User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Remote Controls

Post by ControlFreak » Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:50 pm

about AAAH

shaggy79...

Thanks, that information is very useful.
The VID says that it is made by Realtek.
The PID is identified as a Mass Storage Device in usb.ids, although we know it's a card reader.
So, I will look around the Realtek web sites to see if I can find a model number for it.

If you do ever open up your PC case, see if you can find a model number on it somewhere and let me know.

As far as terminology goes, I see you found this information under Device Instance Path and not under Device Instance ID.
Can you tell me which version of Windows you are running?
Perhaps this is different for other versions of Windows, or else it might be specific to eHome Infrared Receiver (USBCIR) devices only.
I just want to make sure that my instructions are correct.

Also, I want to confirm which plugin you are using for AAAH.
I think you were using RP-0016 Microsoft MCE plugin.
It seems that RP-0018 (and perhaps RP-0017) report a standard VID and PID for all MCE remotes.
I am going to ask Sem;colon more about that.
I don't want to get too off-topic here, but if you are interested, see this.

I forgot to mention something about 0019 in your query about where to find it.
You said that you wanted to get a blaster lead for it as well.
If I remember correctly, Sem;colon said that it has a built in blaster in the receiver.
(I am not 100% sure about that however!)
It also has one (or two) 3.5mm sockets on the receiver for some external blaster leads.
There was a discussion here (I wish I remember where) about those external blasters.
Some of them are low-power, i.e. you have to stick them onto or near the device you want to control.
Some of them are more powerful, so they can be placed further away, and thus also control a whole bunch of devices.

Anyway, thanks for the VID and PID, I will do some searching and add it to the list of working remote control devices.

Just let me know about the Windows version and the plugin version.

Thanks WharfRat/ControlFreak.
WharfRat

Post Reply