Youtube Event

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
badicuandrei

Youtube Event

Post by badicuandrei » Thu Aug 25, 2016 10:53 pm

Hello,

I am using EventGhost 0.4.1.r1722, on Windows 7. I am new to EventGhost and I need a little bit of help.

I am using EventGhost with the AutoRemote plugin to communicate with my phone, which in turn communicates with my watch via AutoWear. I wanted to make a notification pop up on my watch whenever VLC is opened, to control it from the watch (following the communication chain back to EventGhost). This I was able to do.

However I would like to do the same for YouTube, specifically for a tab in chrome where I have opened YouTube. My problem is how do I detect this? Is there a plugin that can generate an event when a webpage containing a certain keyword is opened (in this case "youtube") ? I can detect when a chrome process is created but I have no way of knowing if it is a YouTube page.

Is there any way to do this?

kgschlosser
Site Admin

Re: Youtube Event

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Aug 27, 2016 9:14 pm

ok this is what you do.

install the timer plugin. set the timer plugin to generate an event every so many seconds or minutes. depending on how often you want it to check.

use that event to trigger the find window action. using mozilla the name of the tab that is in focus ends up in the window name and you can wildcard that name for the find window. and use the jump if to jump you to another macro if the find window is successful in locating the window to do whatever it is you need it to do.

you just have to remember this is going to be kind of intensive if you have that timer set to say something like every second.

so keep that in mind when doing this
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

badicuandrei

Post by badicuandrei » Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:08 pm

Wow it works!!! Thanks!!! :D :D :D