HTTP payload character encoding requires odd workaround

Found a bug in EventGhost? Report it here.

HTTP payload character encoding requires odd workaround

Postby davidmark » Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:11 pm

Have long had a problem with Unicode strings passed from the Web server plugin. When I passed a Unicode string (e.g. u'Señor') to an event from a Python code module, all was well; but when the same event received its payload via HTTP, could see in the log that it was a different Unicode string with some sort of odd encoding (middle character was replaced with with two numeric escape sequences). After extensive experimentation and searching around I found that this fixed it:

text.encode("windows-1252").decode("utf-8")

...and the A with the hat character in this example somewhat matched what I saw when trying to display the string without these two extra calls: Señor

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1311 ... -in-python

I'm no Python expert by any stretch, but this seems like a hard way to go. I would expect to see u'Señor' in the payload on HTTP events and not have to pass the result through the above two methods. Worst case scenario should be calling the second decode; having to call both seems to indicate a bug. Perhaps not, but expect it would be good to document this (or at least explain it here).
davidmark
Experienced User

Re: HTTP payload character encoding requires odd workaround

Postby kgschlosser » Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:57 am

did you happen to simply try wrapping the utf-8 encoded Unicode string in str().