Pulse-Eight CEC +

Questions and comments specific to a particular plugin should go here.
User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Tue May 08, 2018 2:56 pm

sorry guys. I had a busy day yesterday. and i was exhausted. I should have known better then to release the thing. This version should fix both of the errors.
Attachments
PulseEightPlus-0.4.4b.egplugin
(374.52 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Tue May 08, 2018 3:19 pm

@jonib


I am sure you already posted this but there are a lot of posts to go read to find it.. and i am to lazy to do it. LOL

What is the made and model of your TV?
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by jonib » Tue May 08, 2018 4:34 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 3:19 pm
What is the made and model of your TV?
Samsung LE40A766

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Tue May 08, 2018 6:18 pm

question for ya. when is the last time you updated the firmware on the TV??? as well as the CEC adapter??
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Tue May 08, 2018 6:22 pm

OK so this is the resolution...

make sure the firmware is up to date. make sure you have AnyNet+ turned on.

then unplug all CEC based devices for a minimum of 15 minutes
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by jonib » Tue May 08, 2018 9:02 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 6:18 pm
question for ya. when is the last time you updated the firmware on the TV???
I was sure I had the latest on my HDTV, but alas I didn't. I have now updated to "T-RBYDND.exe" as I believe it's the latest for my TV. I think I didn't update it before as I was waiting for custom firmware that never got made, I was hoping to control the TV via the network.
as well as the CEC adapter??
Apparently I have Firmware 8, using "cec-client.exe" tool.

I'll see if stuff works better, thanks for the suggestion.
then unplug all CEC based devices for a minimum of 15 minutes
I haven't done this yet, but I will if there is still problems.

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Tue May 08, 2018 9:20 pm

ok and why can't you control the TV over LAN???
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Tue May 08, 2018 9:31 pm

never mind i know why. It was manufactured in 2008. they didn't release an IP control until the D series TV's which is 2011 i believe.

Do you have an ex-link port on it? looks like a headphone jack?

or do you have an HD15 PC monitor connector on it?
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by jonib » Tue May 08, 2018 10:09 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 9:31 pm
never mind i know why. It was manufactured in 2008. they didn't release an IP control until the D series TV's which is 2011 i believe.
I bought my TV too early. :( and nobody cared to mod it, all other models got cool functionality. But not me no. :x
Do you have an ex-link port on it? looks like a headphone jack?
It has a "Service" port that I believe is an EX-LINK port. I did try to buy an EX-LINK cable a couple of times but did not find one.
or do you have an HD15 PC monitor connector on it?
Normal VGA port? that it has.

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Wed May 09, 2018 5:06 am

the ex-link cable is a snap to make. You can get the parts at any electronics store. it is only 3 wires. RX, TX and Ground. 1/8" (3.5mm) headphone plug (male). and a male DB9 connector. You would have to connect to the com port on the mainboard of the computer. You cannot use a USB serial as this is not RS232 it is TTL. The terms gets used in a manner that is not correct. RS232 specification is 12 volt and TTL is 5 or 3.3 volt. and the latter is not a high enough voltage for the RS232 to read the state properly. and if it did work it would be very unstable. You can make a voltage divider and read the output from the TV but unless you add some kind of a buck to boost the TX voltage to 12 the TV will not receive anything.

Here is how you wire it.
800px-Img.jpg
from there everything is easy.

The reason I think you may want to go this route is because of the age of the TV. CEC isn't great now. imagine what it is like back then. and I am not to sure on what they may have added over the years in the firmware. you would have to read the change logs for the firmware to find out if they added anything.

I can tell you this. my UN55D8000 is only able to power on and off and I can change the source inputs. No remote buttons come through and I am not able to send any remote buttons to the TV either. I can't even change the volume. And my TV is a couple generations newer. I am only using the CEC adapter to power on and off my projector because there is something wrong with the serial on it and it always puts out garbage.

as far as the serial goes on the computer you can use cat5e and buy the cable with the ends on it. cut the end off one side of the cable and buy a DB9 to RJ45 adapter this will allow you to have a run of about 15 meters or so +- 2 meters. DO NOT solder the connections. strip them back and cross the 2 wires to make an X and one side at a time wind it around the other wire. then use a really good electrical tape (3m Super 33+) really stretch the tape when putting it on. you only need to wrap the wire 2 times. this will make a nice and even connection. one that takes some effort to pull apart. the jack will come out of the TV before the connection breaks. solder increases the resistance and it also changes the resistance of the wire due to heating this will have a negative impact on distance.

In order to get the service port to work you will have to enter the service mode on the TV and turn it on.

To do this you will have to power off the TV.

while the TV is off quickly press these button on your remote one right after the other.
INFO MENU MUTE POWER

Now depending on the build date of the TV you might be able to set it to UART and the serial will become active for remote only commands. But you may need to set it into debug mode instead.

The rs232 control can be in one of 2 places
Control -> Sub Option -> RS-232 Jack

or

for the Advanced menu you will need to press 0 0 0 0 on your remote to access it.
Advanced => ADJUST => Debug mode

and again depending on the build date of the TV it can be 115200 or 9600. if you set it to UART it will always be 9600
the remainder of the serial setup is 8n1 and the flow control is None



The DB9 to RJ45 is pictured below
41109-2374449.jpg

sometimes they come so you have to pin out the serial. which is not a biggie.
rj45-db9-adapter-4-LRG.jpg
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Wed May 09, 2018 5:08 am

Now in some cases the serial connection is actually in the HD15 (PC) connector. I have to do more digging to see if i can find out if yours might be one of these. but so far I have not come across anything indicating that it might be.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by jonib » Wed May 09, 2018 12:54 pm

kgschlosser wrote:
Wed May 09, 2018 5:06 am
the ex-link cable is a snap to make.
Problem is that my cable projects have a low probability of getting finished. :roll:
You would have to connect to the com port on the mainboard of the computer.
No such thing on my "Asus P8Z77-V Pro" Motherboard. My newer Gigabyte Motherboard does have it but I use it for my main rig.
You cannot use a USB serial as this is not RS232 it is TTL.
I just ordered a cable to program my JP1 remote, USB to TTL Serial Cable Adapter would that not work?

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 3934
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by kgschlosser » Wed May 09, 2018 3:14 pm

no it wont work.. the issue is TTL is to low a voltage.

ya got yourself a JP1 Remote.. awesome, Look into Remote Master it a piece of software for unlocking your remotes potential.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

nYce
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:29 am

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by nYce » Wed May 09, 2018 4:05 pm

Another Bug report:
#P8+ Version: 0.4.4b


Power on all devices doesnt work.

Code: Select all

18:02:32   Pulse-Eight CEC+: Power On All Devices: Adapter: PC on COM8
18:01:36   Pulse-Eight CEC+: Power On All Devices: Adapter: Beamer on COM9
Working: Powering on a specific device:

Code: Select all

18:03:15   Pulse-Eight CEC+: Power On AVR-X540BT: Adapter: PC on COM8
18:03:18   PulseEight.PC.Audio.Power.On
I set the "wake AVR" check for my PC-Adapter. But it doesnt wake it.

My workaround is atm, to just add the wake specific device after the plugin is loaded (or adapter is connected).


My Log in the beginning seems fine.

Code: Select all

17:50:12   CEC Adapter Started
17:50:12   Adapter Name: PC
17:50:12   Adapter Serial Port: COM8
17:50:12   Adapter Device Emulation: recording device
17:50:12   Available Devices: PC, AVR-X540BT
17:50:12   AVR Volume Control: Off
17:50:12   PulseEight.Adapter.PC.Connected
17:50:12   CEC Adapter Started
17:50:12   Adapter Name: Beamer
17:50:12   Adapter Serial Port: COM9
17:50:12   Adapter Device Emulation: recording device
17:50:12   Available Devices: Beamer, AVR-X2400H
17:50:12   AVR Volume Control: Off
17:50:12   PulseEight.Adapter.Beamer.Connected

I dont have much time at the moment, so im just adding small bug/test reports here, as i have time to test something.

nYce
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:29 am

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Post by nYce » Wed May 09, 2018 4:31 pm

#P8+ Version: 0.4.4b

Checking "AVR Volume Control: On" on both devices i got some strange behavier:

My AVR-X2400H (in the Beamer chain) gets turned on. (although "wake AVR" is not checked for this chain). My AVR-X540BT doesnt turn on. (although "wake AVR is checked ^^").

But it is missing in the "Available Devices" in the Log (maybe because it is turning on in this moment?):

Code: Select all

18:27:13   CEC Adapter Started
18:27:13   Adapter Name: PC
18:27:13   Adapter Serial Port: COM8
18:27:13   Adapter Device Emulation: recording device
18:27:13   AVR Volume Control: On
18:27:13   Available Devices: PC, AVR-X540BT
18:27:13   PulseEight.Adapter.PC.Connected

18:27:18   CEC Adapter Started
18:27:18   Adapter Name: Beamer
18:27:18   Adapter Serial Port: COM9
18:27:18   Adapter Device Emulation: recording device
18:27:18   Available Devices: 
18:27:18   AVR Volume Control: On
18:27:18   PulseEight.Adapter.Beamer.Connected

Post Reply