XBMC

Questions and comments specific to a particular plugin should go here.
jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: XBMC

Post by jonib » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:23 am

byronl wrote:I'm not sure how easily fixable this is so don't kill yourself. I'd be happy to test any modifications you have.
OK, I finally had a chance to look at the problem, and I could swear that the directional buttons in "Remote" folder was working exactly like on XBMC on the XBOX, but now they wont do the stepforward and stepbackward :oops: .

There is definitely something wrong with my plugin :( , I'll try to fix it tomorrow, as I'm sure it did work before :cry:

Edit: in "Gamepad" folder dpadleft/dpadright/dpadup/dpaddown seems to work, so those can be used instead of righ/left/up/down from the "Remote" folder, until I fix the "remote" ones.

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

JustGav
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:39 pm

Re: XBMC

Post by JustGav » Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:42 pm

I've just started playing with EventGhost, I was hoping to use a small dedicated system with eventghost as the controller. I've had some good success with the XBMC plugin on my HTPC and getting my IR remote (MCE) working.

I was looking through the xbmcclient.py code and noticed that it has 127.0.0.1 as the IP address, is it possible.

1. To change this to the control the XBMC clients I have dotted round the house
2. And this is an assumption, I would have to create mutiple copies of the plugin and name each one to the relevant system I'm connecting to.


Am I going about it the wrong way or at least on the right track? :)

Thanks

Gav

jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: XBMC

Post by jonib » Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:53 pm

JustGav wrote:1. To change this to the control the XBMC clients I have dotted round the house
I did a test to control XBMC on the XBOX with the plugin and it worked, so yes you can control other XBMCs.
2. And this is an assumption, I would have to create mutiple copies of the plugin and name each one to the relevant system I'm connecting to.
Yes you need different plugins for different IPs, Unless the plugin is modified to accept IP setting.

You just need to change in "__init__.py" file:

Code: Select all

self.xbmc.connect()
to

Code: Select all

self.xbmc.connect(ip="192.168.0.100")
of course use the correct IP number :D

I'll take a look and see if it would be complicated to add the possibility to control several XBMCs, no promises :) .

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

JustGav
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:39 pm

Re: XBMC

Post by JustGav » Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:57 pm

jonib wrote: I'll take a look and see if it would be complicated to add the possibility to control several XBMCs, no promises :) .
jonib
Thanks for the quick response, I'll get on with trying this out now :)

It does indeed work very well :) Thanks for that... Is there anyway of getting feedback from XBMC such as now playing media information. I know it is accesible via the http-api but just wondering whether this is wrapped up in this as well.

mfsav2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: XBMC

Post by mfsav2 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:07 pm

I was able to configure my remote and to launch XBMC without any issue.

The question is: can I change the meaning of an action (for example X10.Ok) depending on the status of XBMC?

I mean on the main menu OK must select but if I'm playing a video OK should show the cross menu.

Thanks,
Mf

kricker
Experienced User
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:49 am
Contact:

Re: XBMC

Post by kricker » Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:19 pm

mfsav2 wrote:I was able to configure my remote and to launch XBMC without any issue.

The question is: can I change the meaning of an action (for example X10.Ok) depending on the status of XBMC?

I mean on the main menu OK must select but if I'm playing a video OK should show the cross menu.

Thanks,
Mf
Review your keymap.xml in the XBMC userdata folder.

User avatar
Livin
Experienced User
Posts: 792
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:56 am

Re: XBMC

Post by Livin » Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:46 pm

mfsav2 wrote:I was able to configure my remote and to launch XBMC without any issue.

The question is: can I change the meaning of an action (for example X10.Ok) depending on the status of XBMC?

I mean on the main menu OK must select but if I'm playing a video OK should show the cross menu.

Thanks,
Mf
the plug-in by jonib has different sections based on the keymap.xml... see if you can find one that fits your need and map that plug-in command to your X10.OK.

see if that works for you.
setup... XBMC, W7MC for DVR & Live OTA TV, JRMC for multi-zone audio, EG, MiCasaVerde Vera3, USB-UIRT IR receiver, Harmony remote, 5.2 home theater system

kricker
Experienced User
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:49 am
Contact:

Re: XBMC

Post by kricker » Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:28 pm

mfsav2 wrote:...
I mean on the main menu OK must select but if I'm playing a video OK should show the cross menu.
He wants one button to perform different actions based on what screen XBMC is in. To do that cleanly, it should be done in the keymap.xml. First choose a default action you want the "ok" button to send to XBMC . Copy the keymap.xml from the XBMC/system folder. Then in the keymap.xml look in the <global> and <FullscreenVideo> section and change the "ok" command you selected earlier to open the OSD.

example:
in EG:
remote button "ok" => keyboard command "enter"

in keymap.xml

Code: Select all

  <global>
...
    <keyboard>
      <p>Play</p>
      <q>Queue</q>
      <f>FastForward</f>
      <r>Rewind</r>
      <left>Left</left>
      <right>Right</right>
      <up>Up</up>
      <down>Down</down>
      <pageup>PageUp</pageup>
      <pagedown>PageDown</pagedown>
      <return>Select</return>
      <enter>Select</enter>
      <backspace>ParentDir</backspace>
      <m>ActivateWindow(PlayerControls)</m>
      <s>ActivateWindow(shutdownmenu)</s>
      <escape>PreviousMenu</escape>
      <i>Info</i>
      <menu>ContextMenu</menu>
      <c>ContextMenu</c>
      <space>Pause</space>
      <x>Stop</x>
      <period>SkipNext</period>
      <comma>SkipPrevious</comma>
      <tab>FullScreen</tab>
      <printscreen>Screenshot</printscreen>
      <minus>VolumeDown</minus>
      <plus>VolumeUp</plus>
      <zero>Number0</zero>
      <one>Number1</one>
      <two>Number2</two>
      <three>Number3</three>
      <four>Number4</four>
      <five>Number5</five>
      <six>Number6</six>
      <seven>Number7</seven>
      <eight>Number8</eight>
      <nine>Number9</nine>
      <backslash>ToggleFullScreen</backslash>
      <browser_home>XBMC.ActivateWindow(Home)</browser_home>
      <browser_favorites>ActivateWindow(Favourites)</browser_favorites>
      <browser_refresh></browser_refresh>
      <browser_search></browser_search>
      <launch_app1_pc_icon>ActivateWindow(MyPrograms)</launch_app1_pc_icon>
      <launch_media_select>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyMusic)</launch_media_select>
      <play_pause>Pause</play_pause>
      <stop>Stop</stop>
      <volume_up>VolumeUp</volume_up>
      <volume_mute>Mute</volume_mute>
      <volume_down>VolumeDown</volume_down>
      <next_track>SkipNext</next_track>
      <prev_track>SkipPrevious</prev_track>
      <launch_mail></launch_mail>
      <key id="61620"></key> <!-- same as above, launch_mail, but using button code (based on vkey id) -->
      <home>FirstPage</home>
      <end>LastPage</end>
      <key id="65446">ParentDir</key>
      <key id="65459">Play</key>
    </keyboard>
  </global>
...
  <FullscreenVideo>
...
    <keyboard>
      <f>FastForward</f>
      <r>Rewind</r>
      <period>StepForward</period>
      <comma>StepBack</comma>
      <backspace>Fullscreen</backspace>
      <quote>SmallStepBack</quote>
      <opensquarebracket>BigStepForward</opensquarebracket>
      <closesquarebracket>BigStepBack</closesquarebracket>
      <return>OSD</return>
      <enter>OSD</enter>
      <m>OSD</m>
      <i>Info</i>
      <o>CodecInfo</o>
      <z>AspectRatio</z>
      <t>ShowSubtitles</t>
      <l>NextSubtitle</l>      
      <left>StepBack</left>
      <right>StepForward</right>
      <up>BigStepForward</up>
      <down>BigStepBack</down>
      <escape>Fullscreen</escape>
    </keyboard>
  </FullscreenVideo>
...
Here are the defaults and you can see "enter" is already set to "select" in the <global> section and "OSD" in the <fullscreenvideo> section.

mfsav2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: XBMC

Post by mfsav2 » Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:23 pm

[quote="kricker]
example:
in EG:
remote button "ok" => keyboard command "enter"
[/quote]

kricker
it is not clear for me what it means keybord command enter.

If I use the plugin I have the XBMC: actions not keyboards.

in the picture you can see the config.

Or I'm using it in the wrong way?

thanks for your help.
Attachments
Untitled.jpg

kricker
Experienced User
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:49 am
Contact:

Re: XBMC

Post by kricker » Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:14 pm

You don't have to use the XBMC event action, you can send a system keyboard "enter" instead. Or use jonib's plugin which has keyboard actions as well. If you use the XBMC event action you can not make it do different actions (cleanly) based on what screen you are on. The event actions are direct commands to the XBMC event server. You could give a remote button 2 XBMC event actions, but it will always send both actions to whatever screen you are on. You might want to read up on what the event actions are. ;)

fluidman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:43 am

Re: XBMC

Post by fluidman » Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:46 am

where can i download jonib's plugin? on page 8 it says teh attached files arent online anymore??

mfsav2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: XBMC

Post by mfsav2 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:54 am

thanks for the explanation... now is clear :)
I just have some issues to understand well all the options in the xml file.


regarding the plugin is not part of the EV setup?

M

jonib
Plugin Developer
Posts: 1280
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: XBMC

Post by jonib » Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:29 pm

fluidman wrote:where can i download jonib's plugin? on page 8 it says teh attached files arent online anymore??
I don't know why the attachment is not available anymore but I have made a new thread for discussion of my XBMCRepeat plugin, with the same attachment until I update it.

To anybody interested in my XBMCRepeat plugin that is not the included XBMC plugin in EventGhost should continue any discussion HERE

jonib
XBMC2 plugin to control XBMC. If you want to flatter me Image

byronl
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:53 am

Re: XBMC

Post by byronl » Sun May 03, 2009 9:18 pm

jonib wrote:
byronl wrote:I'm not sure how easily fixable this is so don't kill yourself. I'd be happy to test any modifications you have.
OK, I finally had a chance to look at the problem, and I could swear that the directional buttons in "Remote" folder was working exactly like on XBMC on the XBOX, but now they wont do the stepforward and stepbackward :oops: .

There is definitely something wrong with my plugin :( , I'll try to fix it tomorrow, as I'm sure it did work before :cry:

Edit: in "Gamepad" folder dpadleft/dpadright/dpadup/dpaddown seems to work, so those can be used instead of righ/left/up/down from the "Remote" folder, until I fix the "remote" ones.

jonib
Thanks for this. At least I'm not going mad, and there's a workaround! Perfect!

Byron

User avatar
Livin
Experienced User
Posts: 792
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:56 am

Re: XBMC

Post by Livin » Thu May 07, 2009 11:55 pm

remote directional pad is working fine for me... ?
setup... XBMC, W7MC for DVR & Live OTA TV, JRMC for multi-zone audio, EG, MiCasaVerde Vera3, USB-UIRT IR receiver, Harmony remote, 5.2 home theater system

Post Reply