OSM (On Screen Menu)

Questions and comments specific to a particular plugin should go here.
User avatar
Livin
Experienced User
Posts: 792
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:56 am

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by Livin » Fri Sep 16, 2011 2:51 am

Pako... you are a programmer :D and a pretty decent one too.
setup... XBMC, W7MC for DVR & Live OTA TV, JRMC for multi-zone audio, EG, MiCasaVerde Vera3, USB-UIRT IR receiver, Harmony remote, 5.2 home theater system

zootoxin
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:02 pm

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by zootoxin » Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:38 pm

Slowly getting to grips with this wonderful plugin.
Thanks Pako.

Just wondering.

How would I go about having Open Menu and Close Menu as the same button?
Lets use Alt+M for examples sake.

User avatar
wakko
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:27 pm
Location: Russia, Siberia

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by wakko » Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:13 pm

Hello Pako

I suddenly found another problem with OSM plugin.
I can't switch to the latest version of EventGhost, to test, is that problem gone/eliminated in the new build, as the old one (0.4.1.r1534) works for me great now, my HTPC is in use, and i've found workaround for that problem.
But i feel, that i must tell about discovered problem, may be it is not known/fixed in a latest build.
May be that problem connected only with my PC, and on the others PC's it can't be reproduced.
If i use OSM's builtin "OS Menu: Cursor Down" or "OS Menu: Cursor Up" actions to navigate over OSM menu, repetitive pressing IR buttons with that actions (say 10-15 times UP or DOWN) cause EventGhost to crush.
Workaround: instead of using mentioned OSM's builtin actions, use Window -> Emulate Keystrokes: {Up} and Emulate Keystrokes: {Down}.
PS: It is happens on my C2D E6300 with Windows XP professional SP3 with latest updates and patches. The only one "old" program is an Evenghost build 0.4.1.r1534.

Thank you for the great plugin.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by Pako » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:10 am

Thank you for reporting the problem, but I can not confirm.
I tried described procedure (at least 200 times), but no crash occurred.
I use version r1540.

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

scrasnups
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:55 pm

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by scrasnups » Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:13 pm

Hi Pako,

thanks for this plugin, I have had the same problem as wakko
I resolved it, removing the keyboard plugin, and readding it
also I pass the keyboard plugin after OSM plugin an then I replace it in the first position
I don't know what action has solved the problem

For info the stacktrace obtained with the down event :
Traceback (most recent call last) (1544):
File "C:\EventGhost\plugins\OSM\__init__.py", line 1325, in onFrameCharHook
self.MoveCursor(1)
File "C:\EventGhost\plugins\OSM\__init__.py", line 1277, in MoveCursor
self.testSelChange()
File "C:\EventGhost\plugins\OSM\__init__.py", line 1248, in testSelChange
sel = self.eventChoiceCtrl.GetSelection()
File "C:\EventGhost\plugins\OSM\__init__.py", line 199, in GetSelection
return self.GetSelectedRows()[0]
IndexError: list index out of range

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by Pako » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:59 am

Can you please attach your EG configuration file (*. xml) ?

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

skat
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:11 am

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by skat » Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:29 am

Hi Pako,

Just wanted to check if you have made any progress about my post from 17 July 2011 in regards to the focus option when creating the OSM window:

Code: Select all

# self.Show(True)
# self.Raise()
eg.WinApi.Dynamic.ShowWindow(self.GetHandle(), 4)
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by Pako » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:59 am

I'm sorry, but I have this thing completely forgotten.
I promise that I will soon look at it.

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by Pako » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:26 am

New version released.
Added option "Show a menu without stealing focus (prevents keyboard control)".

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

altainta
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:58 am

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by altainta » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:08 am

How to make OSM AND OSE interactive. Like Buttons, Image i mean decorative.
Current Options are Text (Fonts) and Color so it is limited on design.
Need Image background, Button type options etc etc stuff which will make this thing very very attractive. I mean good GUI. (eg. Most probably like Iphone, ipad menu)
Hope you will get my point pako
Thank you

themaster1
Experienced User
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:02 pm

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by themaster1 » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:24 pm

I have made a request in private to Pako to make a nicer OS menu if possible but i guess he's too busy :cry:

skat
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:11 am

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by skat » Sat Aug 04, 2012 2:15 pm

Pako,

Sorry for coming back to your new version so late. I have just downloaded r1572 and it works well. Many thanks.

A small issue is that the default value for the option and the function parameter ("Show a menu without stealing focus...") is currently True. I would have expected the default value should be False to keep it consistent with previous versions. If people upgrade the EG, they may have to go through all their OSMs and change the default to False to keep their legacy configs working as they were.

altainta
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:58 am

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by altainta » Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:03 pm

How to make OSM AND OSE interactive. Like Buttons, Image i mean decorative.
Current Options are Text (Fonts) and Color so it is limited on design.
Need Image background, Button type options etc etc stuff which will make this thing very very attractive. I mean good GUI. (eg. Most probably like Iphone, ipad menu)
Hope you will get my point pako
Thank you
themaster1 wrote:I have made a request in private to Pako to make a nicer OS menu if possible but i guess he's too busy :cry:
Requesting Attention !! :|

User avatar
WharfRat
Experienced User
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:56 am

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by WharfRat » Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:20 am

I would be interested to see some good examples of what can be done with the show menu, created from expression Action.

I understand the syntax of the Action, but I don't get the intent of it yet.

As always, curiosity prevails, WharfRat.
EventGhost 0.4.1.r1640
PHX01RN plugin v3.0.1
Windows XP 32bit (v5.1 Build 2600 Service Pack 2)
Windows7 64bit (v6.1 Build 7601 Service Pack 1)

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2290
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: OSM (On Screen Menu)

Post by Pako » Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:07 pm

WharfRat wrote:I understand the syntax of the Action, but I don't get the intent of it yet.
The intention is to allow you to create dynamic menu, defined on the basis of some variables.
Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

Post Reply