xPL

Questions and comments specific to a particular plugin should go here.
damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

xPL

Post by damage » Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:06 pm

i have written a plugin that adds 2 way xPL control to event ghost. it is a first release w/ some testing so it's probably rough around the edges. more details & dl here: http://doghouselabs.blogspot.com/2008/1 ... _7732.html

updated download link: http://www.doghouselabs.com/downloads/eg-xPL-0.2.1.zip
Last edited by damage on Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

CollinR
Experienced User
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:16 am
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: xPL plugin

Post by CollinR » Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:39 pm

This is freaking awesome, thank you much!

Also stick around! This is a great group and great software as I'm sure you have noticed. You would be a valueable addition to the knowledge base.
Windows XP Pro sp3 - Several Machines usually latest beta but who knows.
Inputs: TCP / IR (USBUIRT) / RF(X10 Remote) / CLI-Batch / CCTV Motion / Ocelot
Outputs: TCP / IR (USBUIRT) / SageTV / SageTV Clients / YAC CallerID / HAL v3.7.3 / Ocelot

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Fri Nov 28, 2008 6:22 pm

i uploaded a new version. i forgot to add message type to the send message dialog.

Bartman
Plugin Developer
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:03 am

Re: xPL plugin

Post by Bartman » Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:10 pm

I corrected the link in your first posting.
Just wondering what xPL is :?:

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:41 pm

thanks. i didn't notice a problem with the link. in any case, xPL is a simple network protocol used for home automation. a more complete write up of xPL can be found here http://wiki.xplproject.org.uk/index.php/FAQ and you can go over to the xPL forum ( http://www.xpl-home.org/forums/index.php ) as well (although right now the forum is down for some reason)

some examples of things you can do with xPL:
- squeeze center ( http://www.slimdevices.com ) has an xPL plugin allowing you to control individual squeezeboxes and receive their status via sending/receiving xPL messages
- medianet ( http://www.xplhal.com/medianet.htm ) is another music server allowing similar control
- bluetooth presence detection - ( http://www.xplhal.com/xpl_software.htm ) - respond to xPL messages when a bluetooth device comes into range (you come home from work - the pc detects your bt enabled cellphone and via TTS tells you the doorbell rang, the mailbox was opened and kicks off some relaxing music on your family room squeezebox)
- send xPL messages from one event ghost pc to another and have that other pc perform some action (like TTS or launch zoom player, etc)
- various other applications http://wiki.xplproject.org.uk/index.php ... ed_Devices

atz6975
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:36 am

Re: xPL plugin

Post by atz6975 » Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:40 am

Hi,
thank you for your effort.

I can't get this plugin to load. I created a xPL dir inside eg's plugin directory.
When I check the code (I don't know Py) it seems very different than other plugins (info part + import eg that no other plugin does).
How can I debug this?
Thanks.
eg 0.3.7.1076
Vista, x32, SP1

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:48 pm

i used an existing plugin to help me get started & there are 'import eg' and info sections in those as well (such as the x10 plugin). i just installed it on my work pc & it came right up. did you restart eventghost after creating the xpl directory?

atz6975
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:36 am

Re: xPL plugin

Post by atz6975 » Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:14 pm

Hi,
thank you for your reply.
I created the xPL sub-dir before starting EG.
I get an xpl (i) icon on the log.
My release of x10 doesn't look like your plugin code, what release of EG do you use?
It has an eg.registerplugin with all the info.
You are right about import eg though.

Thank you.
eg 0.3.7.1076
Vista, x32, SP1

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:22 pm

are you running any other xPL apps? what exactly do you mean by 'info sections'? also, i do not have any vista machines so i have not tested on vista...
Last edited by damage on Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Bitmonster
Site Admin
Posts: 2239
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:28 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by Bitmonster » Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:36 pm

@damage
You have written the plugin for the outdated 0.3.5c.

0.3.6 (that nearly everybody is using) has a slightly changed plugin interface. I recommend you read http://www.eventghost.org/wiki/Writing_Plugins first.

And another tip: don't use "global" in Python. You nearly never need it. Use instance variables instead.
Please post software-related questions in the forum - PMs will only be answered, if really private, thanks!

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:42 pm

i guess that explains it. i downloaded from the sourceforge link. is that going to get updated?

atz6975
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:36 am

Re: xPL plugin

Post by atz6975 » Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:46 pm

Unfair...I was really looking forward in driving Squeezecenter 7 through xPL+EG.
I also use the CM15 plugin.
Would that be too difficult to update the script for the latest EG build?
Anyway thank you and tell me if I can help with some SC7 testing if you find some time to recode.
eg 0.3.7.1076
Vista, x32, SP1

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:57 pm

i have updated the plugin. use the same dl link per my first post

atz6975
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:36 am

Re: xPL plugin

Post by atz6975 » Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:33 am

That was quick...although nothing changed!!!
I guess you uploaded the wrong files.
Thank you nevertheless :lol:
eg 0.3.7.1076
Vista, x32, SP1

damage
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: xPL plugin

Post by damage » Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:11 pm

actually you didn't clear your cache...

Post Reply