Ping

Questions and comments specific to a particular plugin should go here.

Ping

Postby miljbee » Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:10 pm

Latest release is this one :
ping.0.0.2.zip
(7.46 KiB) Downloaded 989 times

Image




Previous release :
ping.0.0.1.zip
(5.36 KiB) Downloaded 606 times

New in 0.0.2 :

- WARNING : IT SEEMS THAT YOU NEED TO RUN EG WITH ADMIN RIGHTS FOR 0.0.2 TO WORK.

- The plugin now uses a pure python ping implementation. the windows ping.exe isn't used anymore
- All the threads can now be interrupted immediately (in 0.0.1, the code should wait for running ping.exe to end).
- The plugin should consume far less cpu time.
- The plugin param is no more needed ... unfortunatly, this breaks compatibility, with 0.0.1. :
- if you upgrade, please remove all plugin actions, remove the plugin, then re add ...
- The OnePing action now returns the response time in milliseconds in eg.result
- The GetHostsStatus action now returns the last response time in ms (if the host has ever responded to the pings !)
- Small changes and clean up on the messages sent to the console


Dear all,

I have written my first plugin !

Please, test it, or even better, have a look at the code and tell me how I can improve it.

The purpose of this plugin is to know when a host become alive or dead on the network.

The plugin send ping commands continuously and generate an event when the specified host start or stop responding.

if you set it to ping http://www.google.com for exemple, you'll get an event when you loose your internet connection.

If you TV is connected to your lan, you will get an event when you turn it on/off, ...

You won't get an "alive" event each time the host responds to the ping command. Only the first time.

The plugin can manage as many hosts as you set, and have a few usefull actions and options.

More in the readme.txt.

Thanks for reading !
Last edited by miljbee on Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:30 pm, edited 5 times in total.
miljbee
Experienced User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby jitterjames » Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:30 pm

very nice. I tested it and it works great so far. I'm not exactly sure how or if I'll use it but it's nice to know it's there if I need it!
User avatar
jitterjames
Experienced User
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 4:36 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby manxam » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:11 pm

Thanks for this, I was just looking for EXACTLY this when I came across your post.

I do have a question about the configuration though. After adding a new host to ping, can I delete the macro or must I keep it in tact? The reason why I ask is that I also there is a remove host option as well so I assume this information is kept elsewhere.

Thanks!
manxam
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:11 am

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby miljbee » Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:16 am

you don't need to keep the action after it has been executed (if it's not executed, it does nothing). But if you remove the action, your hosts won't get watched anymore the next time you will open eg.
eg isn't able to remenber your hosts between 2 sessions, it is only able to remenber actions ...

Regarding the 0.0.2, I don't think I'll be able to find a solution to make it run without admin rights. So if you want 0.0.2, you'll need to start eg with admin rights. If you use to autostart eg with windows, it is very simple, justs launch it with a scheduled task. in W7, you have the option to launch apps with admin rights from schedulled tasks.
miljbee
Experienced User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby manxam » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:52 pm

Thanks for the reply. Does that mean I have to use oninit for the add host macros in case eg gets restarted or is this handled by your plugin?

Cheers!
manxam
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:11 am

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby miljbee » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:54 pm

Just put the "add host" actions in your autostart macro. That's the easiest way to go in a basic conf.
miljbee
Experienced User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby manxam » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:08 pm

Thanks. As for W7, i'm using it and your script without issue.
manxam
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:11 am

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby miljbee » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:10 pm

As for W7, i'm using it and your script without issue.

eg runs with admin rights ?
miljbee
Experienced User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: new plugin : Ping

Postby manxam » Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:17 pm

eg is not being run with admin rights and UAC is enabled.

No problems at all.
manxam
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:11 am

Problem with ping

Postby ytulpan » Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:43 pm

I run Eventghost on Windows 2008 server and I needed this plugin in order to maintain a list of active devices on the internal network.

Once I added a few hosts to monitor, I noticed an increasing sluggishness in EventGhost. Even trying to move the window resulted in hiccups.

The thing is that the problem is not CPU utilization; the CPU for the eg process stays at almost zero. It looks like the plugin interferes and delays other events in the EG windows event loop.

So I don't know; I don't really want to go into the code. Maybe something with blocking sockets at the wrong place. But I cannot use it as it is, since it delays not only the user interface, but also other events.

Any idea ?
ytulpan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Ping

Postby miljbee » Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:52 pm

I have also noticed what you describe. I haven't had the Time to dig…
you can use the first release that uses the good old ping.exe
miljbee
Experienced User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: Ping

Postby ytulpan » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:01 pm

I tried some time ago to run the operating system ping from VBscript. It hogs the CPU, especially if you define a smallish timeout, and you try 20 simultaneous pings (for different hosts). This (0.0.2) implementation does not register over 0% in the task manager, so low is its CPU consumption.

Anyway, if and when you'll find some time...
ytulpan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Ping

Postby miljbee » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:20 pm

I Will for sure correct this, but not in thé coming weeks…
miljbee
Experienced User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:29 pm
Location: Orléans, France

Re: Ping

Postby ytulpan » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:26 pm

No problem. Not urgent at all.

Thanks for your effort
ytulpan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:27 pm

Re: Ping

Postby Derbyboy » Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Hi

I´m trying to get this plugin to work as I want it. I would really like to use the get action GetHostsStatus to work but when I "test" the OnePing action and the GetHostsStatus action nothing happens. I imagine that if I use the action Gethoststatus it would respond and I should see some kind of result in the log area. There is no problems adding a host, I receive a message that my host is alive.

Pls help me!

Kind regards D
Derbyboy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:01 pm

Next

Return to Plugin Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests