Might have a server

Keep up to date with EG related information here.
Post Reply
User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Might have a server

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:47 am

I am running through the setup process on a KVM VPS going to get my toes wet and see if everything is going to work as i hope.

here are the specs on the server
4 cores at 2.3 ghz (dedicated)
4 gig ram (dedicated)
150 gig SSD (dedicated space allocation on a shared SSD stripe)
1000 mbit connection
10tb of bandwidth (yes that is 10000Gig)

I am thinking with those specs we should be good for a really really long time.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

pearbear
Experienced User
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Might have a server

Post by pearbear » Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:11 am

How does the ongoing cost of that plan compare to the cost of the current hosting plan?

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Might have a server

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:01 am

cheaper
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

pearbear
Experienced User
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Might have a server

Post by pearbear » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:05 am

Cool!

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Might have a server

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:08 am

i got the VPS. and I have started experimenting with it I have Ubuntu 16.04 running with Xrdp tigerVNC and Unity desktop. Apache 2.4 is up and running. MySql 5.7 is good to go. PHP 7.18 with Opcache and APCu PHP cache to speed things up. phpmyadmin is also installed and working properly I have PHPbb 3.2 running all permissions seem to be set properly. It's just a dummy site at the moment with an empty forum I am trying to see if there are any major hang ups It's been pretty smooth. I had an issue with getting the OS installed but that has been resolved.


you can check out the forum end of things the index page for the site is the Apache startup page but it shows it works Tho I have not tested the registration bits of it.

http://104.129.43.183/forum
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Might have a server

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:11 am

its actually quite a bit cheaper so i am happy with that. The best part is we are basically in complete control of it. no limitations other then the resources so I can't complain there. and the 10tb of data makes it nice because now we will not have to worry about possibly going over bandwidth even with setting up a plugin repo.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5498
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Might have a server

Post by kgschlosser » Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:25 am

Ok temp DNS is set up. Dont have a site up yet but there is a test version forum up and running
I am going to work on migrating the data this evening and get the docs done up so when we move the site just have to follow the step by step.

Here is a link to the test forum. eventghost.rocks/forum
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
zian
Site Admin
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 3:54 pm

Re: Might have a server

Post by zian » Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:16 pm

pearbear wrote:Cool!
Yup.
Very cool.
eventghost.net
Be there or be square.

Post Reply