Found a new program to check indoor location.

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
eventspook
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:50 pm

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by eventspook » Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:02 pm

That's pretty clever!

I was wondering if cheap USB access points (example, but I wouldn't connect it to any network) might do the job, but your approach sounds cheaper, more efficient, and much more flexible.

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4938
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:48 pm

just make sure the ESP's have a voltage regulator built onto it.. it may cost a dollar more. but you will be able to use a good quality USB cell phone charger instead of a 20 dollar ac to dc adapter.

the adafruit huzzah was the first i used. then i went with some generic version for 1/2 the cost. and the adafruit retail is 10$ USD so the others cost me a little over 5 and because you can put python code on the things and they have usually 4 meg of storage. all of python for the thing is only 600k so you get an idea of space. 4 meg is a whole lot. I am going to mess with the thing some more to see if i can't get a microphone hooked up to the thing as well and have it transmit the data back to EG to be used for voice control of my house.. because it will know what room you are in based on the ip address i wouldn't have to say "turn on master bedroom lights" i would be able to just walk into the room and say "lights"
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

rdgerken
Experienced User
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:41 pm

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by rdgerken » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm

This sounds awesome. Can you share more specifics with the hardware and code you are using?

Thanks

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4938
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by kgschlosser » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:55 am

when I am done testing everything out and making sure it runs properly I will post everything I have on it in the tutorials section.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

zen_SuR
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:12 pm

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by zen_SuR » Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:17 pm

that sounds amazing. any news on this?

User avatar
yokel22
Experienced User
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: U.S. - Kansas city

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by yokel22 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:05 am

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9480. It sounds better than it does actually work. You really need to blanket your space with AP's for this to really be reliable. You could set up a bunch of pi's as AP's for fairly cheap to improve performance.

zen_SuR
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:12 pm

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by zen_SuR » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:01 am

i will try. i am living in a 60sqm flat but in a house with many of them. i have about 10 neighboring wifi signals on my pc. i will report my findings in the linked thread.

User avatar
yokel22
Experienced User
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: U.S. - Kansas city

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by yokel22 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:26 pm

That sounds like a pretty ideal scenario.

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4938
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:55 pm

you can use esp8266's as simple access points to provide more references. You can get these for pretty cheap. couple of dollars. and they are no bigger then a box of stick matches.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
yokel22
Experienced User
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: U.S. - Kansas city

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by yokel22 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:29 pm

Kg, Have you actually done that with an esp? When I looked at the dev site for this. The pi's wifi chip doesn't support the necessary functions to make it work, I believe it was bridging. You have to use a USB wifi dongle. Mainly the reason I didn't explore it further. I would imagine this is the case for the esp also.

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4938
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:17 pm

ok the only thing the find application does is it looks at the current access points that are available and their rssi (signal strength) values. it puts into a database the mac address of the access point as well as that rssi value. the more available access points the find application can see the better the accuracy because there is only one place that is going to have those readings. there is some math and calculations behind this to offset for variables that can affect the readings. this is why the more visible access points the better. The find application never connects to these access points it simply needs to see them. so using the esp8266's as a low cost alternative to buying a bunch of commercially available access points (like Linksys) it a good thing to do. because you do not need a connection to it you only want to use it for reading the signal strength. typically if you can see 10+ access points then find will work without an issue. if you live 20 minutes to the nearest gas station like I do. Then you will not have more then 2-3 MAYBE at best that are visible and adding the esp8266's throughout the home to improve accuracy is the thing to do. they are extremely low power consumption as well. 0.5A @ 3.3VDC at most, when flashing the firmware. under normal use probably half that. which translates out to 0.250A @ 3.3VDC = 0.00825A @ 120VAC with 20% efficiency loss already added in. Where as with an access point like a Linksys you would be somewhere about 0.5A @ 120VAC. and the raspberry pi is along the line of 1.0 @ 5.0VDC = 0.05A @ 120VAC

Now I know that doesn't seem like a lot. but if we do some math here and figure out what the monthly kWHs are.
amps to wattage
0.5 * 120 = 60
0.00825 * 120 = 0.99
0.05 * 120 = 6

get the daily wattage consumption
60 * 24 = 1440
0.99 * 24 = 23.76
6 * 24 = 144

monthly
1440 * 30 = 43244 watts per month
23.76 * 30 = 712.80 watts per month
144 * 30 = 4320 watts per month

now calculate the kWH
43244 / 1000 = 43.2
712.80 / 1000 = 0.7128
4320 / 1000 = 4.32

cost per month.
depends on how much you pay for electricity. for me i pay $0.04 per kWH national average for the US is 0.12. and as high as 0.275
43.2 * 0.12 = $5.184
0.7128 * 0.12 = $0.085536
4.32 * 0.12 = $0.5184

now remember this is per access point without adding in transmission fees or service fees. this is only cost per kWH to use.
If I added 10 of these suckers.
$51.84 per month
$0.85536 per month
$5.184 per month

not to mention the initial cost investment.
30.00ea * 10 = $300.00*
3.00ea + 3.00 USB Cable + 5.00 Power supply = 11.00 * 10 = $110.00**
35.00ea + 15.00ea WiFi + 5.00 SDCard + 20.00 Power supply = 75.00 * 10 = 750.00***

* Included Power Supply
** usb cable and a cheap 500ma rated usb cell phone charger (most people probably have a junk drawer full of these)
*** mfg suggested 2.5A power supply (peak power consumption is greater then 1.0A), SD card is needed for operating system.

My Brain is kinda mush so if I did these calculations wrong. please correct me.

I am thinking with the lowest initial investment as well as the lowest cost to operate the ESP8266 is the best way to improve the accuracy of Find.

Again if i am wrong (which is very probable) please correct me.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4938
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:22 pm

and I forgot to mention.

Because the Find application uses the mac address of the AP you can actually set them all to the same channel and all to the same name. This will not alter its readings. No reason to confuse the hell out of any guests in your house with a whole bunch of available AP's to connect to. LOL

And i did want to mention there is a tutorial on how to use geofences as location awareness for outside of the home.
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=8226
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
yokel22
Experienced User
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: U.S. - Kansas city

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by yokel22 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:05 pm

That's all great & all, but have you actually done this with an esp?

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 4938
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:50 pm

yes. all i did was put the ESP into AP mode and assign it an SSID.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
yokel22
Experienced User
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: U.S. - Kansas city

Re: Found a new program to check indoor location.

Post by yokel22 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:55 am

Excellent!

Post Reply