Wake on lan not working anymore

Found a bug in EventGhost? Report it here.
Post Reply
pinkfloyd
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:33 am

Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by pinkfloyd » Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:28 pm

Hi all,

Eventghost 0.5.0 -rc6, i use the wake on lan function for a long time, but yesterday, after a windows 10 update, it's not working anymore :


Image

Does someone have a fix ?

Thks !!!

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Jul 14, 2020 10:37 pm

any way you can copy and paste the error instead of doing a screen shot please?
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

pinkfloyd
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:33 am

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by pinkfloyd » Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:06 am

No problem :)

Code: Select all

Erreur lors de l'Action suivante: "Wake on LAN: 8C-xxxxxxxxx-F4"
   Traceback (most recent call last) (0.5.0-rc6):
     File "C:\Program Files (x86)\EventGhost\eg\Classes\ActionBase.py", line 116, in CallWrapper
       return self(*args)
     File "C:\Program Files (x86)\EventGhost\plugins\System\__init__.py", line 592, in __call__
       sock.sendto(send_data, ('<broadcast>', 7))
   error: [Errno 10065] Une opération a été tentée sur un hôte impossible à atteindre

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by kgschlosser » Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:43 am

The error that is happening is because there is some kind of a connection error to the network. Check your network settings on your Windows 10 machine and make sure everything is correct.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

pinkfloyd
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:33 am

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by pinkfloyd » Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:45 am

hi, this is my home server, so connection is OK. Can i provide debug log to be more specific to helping you ?

And more, i trigger this event with my "ok google" so eventghost had full access to internet.... ( and my two machine on the same network wicth use samba share, so connexion also ok )

Thanks for the reply btw ^^

User avatar
Sem;colon
Plugin Developer
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:51 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by Sem;colon » Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:28 am

Hello pinkfloyd,

It doesn't look like an Eventghost related error.
Please verify if WOL works from that PC Eventghost is running on with a different tool and with that MAC address you are using in EG.

Be aware that both PCs need to be in the same subnet in order for WOL to work. (But I guess they are, as you said it was working before)

As you said it happened after a windows update: Did you know Microsoft "updates" your network card drivers as well? Most likely that's the issue here.
If you like my work, Image me a drink :wink:

pinkfloyd
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:33 am

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by pinkfloyd » Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:31 pm

So, i had made some test :

Using "wakemeolan 1.86" from nirsoft : https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wake_on_lan.html

From other computer : OK with wakemeonlan

From my server : OK with wakemeonlan - KO with eventghost :

Image

Conclusion.. IT'S an evenghost issue :cry:

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jul 19, 2020 10:46 am

I need you to do a couple of things for me.

first is to open an elevated command prompt (run as administrator)

type in the following.

Code: Select all

ipconfig /all
paste the output into a PM to me. no screen captures please. and do not * or change anything.

I believe that the plugin is grabbing the first adapter in the binding order where as the nirsoft app blasts the packat out every available adapter. This could be the reason why it is working from the nirsoft app. There could be something not right with the first adapter in that binding order. This is why I need to see the output of the ipconfig unaltered. I will be able to confirm this.

The other thing you can do is there is a plugin poking about the forums that I wrote that will allow you to capture a magic packet using EG. if you install this plugin and then send a magic packet from the broken plugin to the mac on the same machine I want to see if it gets received.

I don't remember the name of the plugin I wrote and I will dig it up on the forum in a bit. I am going to do alittle bit more poking about and see what's up with the plugin. If you can get me that ipconfig output it will help me to narrow down the problem.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

pinkfloyd
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:33 am

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by pinkfloyd » Sun Jul 19, 2020 12:05 pm

you did it !

I change the metric of my lan card to 10 ( Hamashi had the lowest value before ) and now it's working !

GG :)

Before ( with error )

Code: Select all

ifIndex InterfaceAlias                  AddressFamily NlMtu(Bytes) InterfaceMetric Dhcp     ConnectionState PolicyStore
------- --------------                  ------------- ------------ --------------- ----     --------------- -----------
13      Hamachi                         IPv4                  1404              15 Enabled  Connected       ActiveStore
13      Hamachi                         IPv6                  1500              15 Enabled  Connected       ActiveStore
16      vEthernet (Internet)       IPv4                  1500              25 Disabled Connected       ActiveStore
[...]


After ( wake on lan of evenghost working ) :

Code: Select all

ifIndex InterfaceAlias                  AddressFamily NlMtu(Bytes) InterfaceMetric Dhcp     ConnectionState PolicyStore
------- --------------                  ------------- ------------ --------------- ----     --------------- -----------
16      vEthernet (Internet)        IPv4                  1500              10 Disabled Connected       ActiveStore
13      Hamachi                         IPv6                  1500              15 Enabled  Connected       ActiveStore
13      Hamachi                         IPv4                  1404              15 Enabled  Connected       ActiveStore
[...]

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jul 19, 2020 3:13 pm

I had to spend a few minutes and think of what could be causing the problem.

So now you have to take back the comment about EG being the problem :shock: :wink:
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

pinkfloyd
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:33 am

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by pinkfloyd » Sun Jul 19, 2020 3:35 pm

It still an evenghost problem ;)

If would be nice if the plugin can ask us on wich card send the wake up magic packet :) ( or a least trying all the lan card )

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Wake on lan not working anymore

Post by kgschlosser » Sun Jul 19, 2020 10:18 pm

I will take a look at the plugin and see what changes need to be made to have it send out the packet on all cards.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

Post Reply